Skip to Main Content

FLUX: 2023 ClayHouston Members' Show

ClayHouston presents FLUX: 2023 ClayHouston Members' Show.

This annual Members’ non-juried show includes diverse works from current ClayHouston members who reside in and around the Houston area. Ranging from sculptural to functional ceramics, this showcase represents artists from varying levels.

Flux is the state of continuous change, an ongoing process, and in the context of clay and glaze, it is an integral element that facilitates important transformations within ceramics. Clay is a volatile medium that requires constant adaptation to translate concepts into tangible objects; from form to surface, ceramics carry evidence of the maker and the processes used. This dynamic material unites the Houston clay community across all backgrounds, levels, and interests.

ClayHouston exists to cultivate, promote, and advance the ceramic arts in the Houston Metropolitan area and beyond. The organization works to provide members with opportunities through education, professional development, social activities, exhibitions, workshops, and programs while partnering with local arts organizations. ClayHouston was founded in 2004 and is a volunteer-run 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Learn more and join here.

Every year, working to bridge the gap between clay and under-represented communities in Houston, ClayHouston awards money to ceramic artists in Texas who self-identify as Black, Indigenous, and/or People of Color. Learn more about our BIPOC Award here.

About the Juror: Sarah Darro (she/her) is the Curator + Exhibitions Director of Houston Center for Contemporary Craft. Her intersectional curatorial practice is invested in reinvigorating museum spaces as forums for discourse, innovation, action, and engagement through experience. She has been named the 2022 IASPIS Visiting Expert from the Swedish Arts Grants Committee, the 2022 Jentel Foundation Art Critic at the Archie Bray Foundation, and the 2019 American Craft Council Emerging Voices Scholar. Darro has also served as a 2024 Penland School of Craft Residency Juror, 2023 American Craft Council Directory Curator, and 2023 Lois Moran Award for Craft Writing Juror.

Prior to her appointment in Houston, she was the Gallery Manager of the Center for Craft in Asheville, NC, and completed curatorial research fellowships at Corning Museum of Glass and Houston Center for Contemporary Craft. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Society of North American Goldsmiths and holds a Master’s degree in Visual, Material, and Museum Anthropology from the University of Oxford and dual Bachelor’s degrees in Art History and Anthropology from Barnard College of Columbia University. More information about Darro's curatorial practice can be found at

Participating Artists: Patricia Taylor, Kathleen Hamlet, Laura Sprague, JoAnne Sblendorio-Levy, Lauren Clay, Adriana LoRusso Moreira, Stacy Kuropata, Una Kirkpatrick, James Beard, Caroline Carey, Passion Trenkelbach, Dorliza Copa, Cole Mujadzic, Alicia LeBlanc, Carole Smith, N. Blanca, Anne Steacy, Jesusa U Dougherty, Jessica Phillips, Tiffany Nesbit, Betsy Evans, Lynda Pigula, Nancy Goodearl, Mary Aldrich, Meghan Rutz, Beatriz Fiorito, Angela Corson, Emilia Pardo, Maria Raquel Morales, Reema Forster, Jeff Forster, Kelley Eggert, Abraham Garcia, Elise Rosen, A. M. Schaer, Mara Cavalcanti Reid, Falon Mihalic, Jacob Melgren, Alison Miller, Jesse Sifuentes, Andre Bally, Virginia Bally, Naomi Choi, Lenie Caston-Miller, LeRoy Grubbs, Johana Hartjen, Eileen McClellan, David Waddell, Vivian Pastor, John Alexander, Dana Cargile, Maggie Fitch, Amanda Barry Jones, Kacie Lee Rice, Vera Hashem, Anne Walker, Yvonne Gerych, Michael Lesher, Julia McLaurin, Maria Hernandez, Carol Berger, Renee Lieber, Sabine Triplett, Rachel Hess

Image: Courtesy of Jeff Forster